The Department of Electrical Power Engineering offers programmes leading to the award of Bachelor of Electrical Power Engineering. The department has access to a total of 18 undergraduate and postgraduate laboratories. The laboratories are:

Mathupriya ME094381_31

√   Communication System Laboratory

√   Condition Monitoring Laboratory

√   Data Communication and Networking Lab

√   Digital Logic Design Lab

√   Electrical/Electronics Measurement Lab

√   Electronics Design Lab

√   EMF Laboratory

√   Power Electronics and Drive Technology Laboratory

√   Microprocessor Applications Laboratory

√   Optoelectronics Laboratory

√   Printed Circuit Board (PCB) Laboratory

√   RF & Microwave Technology Laboratory

√   Robotics and Control Laboratory

√   Research and Project Laboratory

√   Signal Processing and Computer Lab

√   System Development Laboratory

In addition to these laboratories, there are also Power Systems Laboratories, High Voltage Testing and Diagnostic, Electronics, Control and Instrumentation, Power Plant Technology and Electric Drives Laboratories which are owned by TNB Research and can be accessed by Universiti Tenaga Nasional students for the purpose of research.

The department is now developing the following labs for undergraduate and postgraduate use, in particular to complement the technical elective subjects taught in the final year before students graduate.

√   Artificial Intelligence and Machine Vision Laboratory

√   Nanotechnology & Switching Laboratory

√   Power Quality Laboratory

√   Power System Protection Laboratory

√   Power System Laboratory



Depending on the usage of laboratories, software installed in these computers are MATLAB, LTSPICE, ALTERA VHDL, ALTERA FPGA development tools, Programmable Logic Controller, word processing and many other application specific softwares.